Aretha Franklin – A Portrait Of The Queen 1970 – 1974 (Vinyl Box Set) (Pre-Order)

SKU: 4050538886122 Categories: , , ,


  • GBP: £171.96

1 in stock

Product Description

Title: Aretha Franklin – A Portrait Of The Queen 1970 – 1974 Format: 6 LP Vinyl Set Label: BMG Barcode: 4050538886122

Release date: December 1st 2023


Original Albums Remastered From the Analog Master Tapes by Grammy® Award-Winning Engineer, Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Produced by Grammy® Award-Winner Cheryl Pawelski with Liner Notes from Billboard’s Gail Mitchell & British Ambassador of Soul, David Nathan.

Includes the hit Young, Gifted, & Black, released in 1972, which hit #2 on Billboard’s R&B albums survey and #11 on the Billboard Top 200 as well as being certified GOLD.

Aretha won the 1972 Grammy Award for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance the album ranked at number 388 on Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Also includes This Girl’s In Love With You which features the first commercial release of “Let It Be,” and came out 2 months ahead of The Beatles. Both this album and Spirit In The Dark feature the Muscle Shoals Rhythm section and an appearance by Duane Allman. Along with production on both from Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd & Arif Mardin.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

1 Son of a Preacher Man
2 Share Your Love With Me
3 Dark End of the Street
4 Let It Be
5 Eleanor Rigby
6 This Girl’s in Love With You
7 It Ain’t Fair
8 The Weight
9 Call Me
10 Sit Down and Cry

Disc: 2

1 Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)
2 The Thrill Is Gone (From Yesterday’s Kiss)
3 Pullin’
4 You and Me
5 Honest I Do
6 Spirit in the Dark
7 When the Battle Is Over
8 One Way Ticket
9 Try Matty’s
10 That’s All I Want from You
11 Oh No Not My Baby
12 Why I Sing the Blues

Disc: 3

1 Oh Me Oh My (I’m a Fool for You Baby)
2 Day Dreaming
3 Rock Steady
4 Young, Gifted and Black
5 All the King’s Horses
6 A Brand New Me
7 April Fools
8 I’ve Been Loving You Too Long
9 First Snow in Kokomo
10 The Long and Winding Road
11 Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time)
12 Border Song (Holy Moses)

Disc: 4

1 Hey Now Hey (The Other Side of the Sky)
2 Somewhere (Feat. Anneke Van Giersbergen)
3 So Swell When You’re Well
4 Angel
5 Sister from Texas
6 Mister Spain
7 That’s the Way I Feel About Cha
8 Moody’s Mood
9 Just Right Tonight

Disc: 5

1 Let Me in Your Life
2 Every Natural Thing
3 Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing
4 I’m in Love
5 Until You Come Back to Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)
6 The Masquerade Is Over
7 With Pen in Hand
8 Oh Baby
9 Eight Days On the Road
10 If You Don’t Think
11 A Song for You

Disc: 6

1 Pledging My Love/The Clock
2 You’re Taking Up Another Man’s Place
3 Are You Leaving Me
4 You’re All I Need to Get By (Take 2)
5 Spanish Harlem (Aretha 3, Rough Mix, Reel 12150)
6 Lean On Me
7 Sweetest Smile and the Funkiest Style
8 Do You Know
9 At Last
10 Master of Eyes (The Deepness of Your Eyes)
11 Til It’s Over