Dave Alvin & Jimmie Dale Gilmore – TexiCali (Vinyl 2 LP)

SKU: 634457163980 Categories: , ,


  • GBP: £39.98

1 in stock

Product Description

Title: Dave Alvin & Jimmie Dale Gilmore – TexiCali Format: Vinyl 2 LP/Gatefold Label: YEPROC Barcode: 634457163980

Release date: June 21st 2024

TexiCali, the new album from Grammy winner Dave Alvin and Grammy nominee Jimmie Dale Gilmore, continues to bridge the distance between the two troubadours’ respective home bases of California (Alvin) and Texas (Gilmore). The geographic theme reflects Alvin’s repeated journeys to record in Central Texas with Gilmore and the Austin-based backing band that has toured with the duo for the past few years. As Alvin puts it in the liner notes, those road trips informed the music they made on TexiCali. Its 11 songs also connect their shared fondness for a broad range of American music forms. Gilmore is primarily known for left-of-center country music, while Alvin’s compass points largely toward old-school blues. But there’s a lot of ground to cover beyond those foundations, and both artists also are well-known for transcending genre limitations. So it’s not surprising that they’ve spiked TexiCali with cosmic folk narratives, deep R&B grooves and even swinging reggae rhythms.

Track Listings

1 Borderland
2 Southwest Chief
3 Broke Down Engine
4 Trying To Be Free
5 Blind Owl
6 Death Of The Last Stripper
7 Roll Around
8 Betty And Dupree
9 Why I’m Walking
10 Down The 285
11 We’re Still Here