Manchester Orchestra – The Valley of Vision (Limited Clear Vinyl)

SKU: 0888072517387 Categories: , , , ,


  • GBP: £25.84

1 in stock

Product Description

Title: Manchester Orchestra – The Valley of Vision Format: CD Label: Loma Vista Cat Num: Barcode: 0888072446762

Release date: April 7th 2023

Accompanied by an awe-inspiring film that immerses viewers in 180 degrees of virtual reality, the brand new album finds the band reinvigorated once again, delivering a serene salvo of songs that defy the heavy weight of adulthood, faith and self-redemption through sounds unlike anything they have made before. Following their previous 2021 LP, The Million Masks of God – an acclaimed collection that cried for help as it explored a man’s encounter with the angel of death – The Valley of Vision puts forth a collective, cathartic expression of gratitude that is brought to life in both the songwriting of frontman Andy Hull, and the cinematic story directed by Isaac Deitz.

Track Listings

1 Capital Karma
2 The Way
3 Quietly
4 Letting Go
5 Lose You Again
6 Rear View

Writing for the record began with a chance occurrence in the summer of 2021. Hull was looking through his suitcase for his lyric notebook, but instead found a 1975 book of Puritan prayers called The Valley of Vision, which his mom had gifted to him the previous Christmas. The title became a mantra that helped inspire the idyllic yet otherworldly energy that permeates throughout the album and film. An evolution from its predominantly guitar-driven past, the band almost completely abandons the instruments it is used to, and instead plays with primitive yet powerful piano leads and shimmering atmospheres, backed by sub-synth frequencies of bassist Andy Prince and shapeshifting sounds of drummer Tim Very.