SKU: 810098502580 Categories: , ,


  • GBP: £34.19

Out Of Stock - 2 Week Delay. Please email to enquire on re-ordering product

Email when stock available

Product Description

The album title came from the Johnny Cash song “Five Feet High and Rising”. It is

listed on Rolling Stone’s 200 Essential Rock Records and The Source’s 100 Best Rap

Albums. When Village Voice held its annual Jazz & Pop Critics Poll for 1989, 3 Feet

High and Rising was ranked #1. It was also listed on the Rolling Stone’s The 500

Greatest Albums of All Time. Released amid the 1989 boom in gangsta rap, which

gravitated towards hardcore, confrontational, violent lyrics, De La Soul’s uniquely

positive style made them an oddity beginning with the first single, “Me, Myself and

I”. Their positivity meant many observers labeled them a ‘hippie’ group, based on

their declaration of the ‘D.A.I.S.Y. Age’ (Da. Inner. Soul. Yall).

Sampling artists as diverse as Hall & Oates, Steely Dan and The Turtles, 3 Feet High

and Rising is often viewed as the stylistic beginning of 1990s alternative hip hop

(and especially jazz rap).

An absolutely essential slice of Hip Hop history that’s been unavailable for some time.



  1. Intro
  2. The Magic Number
  3. Change in Speak
  4. Cool Breeze on the Rocks (The Melted Version)
  5. Can U Keep a Secret
  6. Jenifa Taught Me (Derwin’s Revenge)
  7. Ghetto Thang
  8. Transmitting live from Mars
  9. Eye Know
  10. Take It Off
  11. A Little Bit of Soap
  12. Tread Water
  13. Potholes in My Lawn
  14. Say No Go
  15. Do As De La Does
  16. Plug Tunin’ (Last Chance to Comprehend)
  17. De La Orgee
  18. Buddy (with Jungle Brothers and Q-Tip from A Tribe Called Quest)
  19. Description
  20. Me Myself and I
  21. This is a Recording 4 Living in a Full Time Era (L.I.F.E.)
  22. I Can Do Anything (Delacratic)
  23. D.A.I.S.Y. Age