Paul McCartney & Wings – One Hand Clapping (2LP)(Pre-Order)

SKU: 0602465081596 Categories: ,


  • GBP: £40.87

3 in stock

Product Description

Paul McCartney & Wings – One Hand Clapping (2LP)

RELEASE DATE: 14th June 2024

• 50 years after their initial recording, the sessions for Wings One Hand Clapping will be released for the very first time.

• Discs 1 and 2 are newly mixed with 12 tracks that didn’t appear in the original film.

• The package includes original artwork, plus a TV sales brochure created for the film.

‘One Hand Clapping‘ – The Live Studio Album by Paul McCartney and Wings, out 14th June featuring Live studio sessions from 1974 newly-mixed and available for the first time.

The wait is over: with the June 14 release of One Hand Clapping, one of the most bootlegged live albums in musical history will finally receive a proper release. In August 1974, when Band on the Run was enjoying a seven-week consecutive #1 stint at the top of the UK album charts, Paul McCartney and Wings headed to Abbey Road Studios for the filming of a video documentary and possible live studio album – One Hand Clapping. Despite overwhelming demand for newly recorded material from the biggest band in the world at that time, One Hand Clapping was never officially released.

Filmed and recorded over four days and directed by David Litchfield, the release of One Hand Clapping is a historic moment for Paul McCartney fans.  Over the years, various parts of One Hand Clapping have been bootlegged with varying degrees of success.  Some of the material has also appeared on official McCartney releases. However, the June 14 release of One Hand Clapping, which features the original artwork designed for the project, including a TV sales brochure for the unreleased film at the time, is the first time the audio for the film—plus several additional songs recorded off-camera–have been officially issued.

One Hand Clapping showcased Wings‘ new line-up, fresh off their return from Nashville where they recorded the classic single Junior’s Farm. Following the sudden departure of Denny Seiwell and Henry McCullough the previous year on the eve of recording the Wings masterpiece Band on the RunPaulLinda and Denny Laine were now joined by guitarist Jimmy McCulloch and drummer Geoff Britton. Additionally joining the band in the studio were orchestral arranger Del Newman and saxophonist Howie Casey, who had previously played with Paul in Hamburg and would go on to join the Wings touring band.

Opening with an instrumental jam that would become the One Hand Clapping theme song, the album features live-in-studio renditions of Wings mega-hits Live and Let DieBand on the RunJetMy LoveHi, Hi, HiJunior’s Farm, Paul’s much loved solo song Maybe I’m Amazed, reworked extracts of Beatles classics Let It BeThe Long and Winding Road and Lady Madonnathe Moody Blues hit Go Now with Denny Laine singing, and a Paul solo piano version of the Harry Akst/Benny Davis Tin Pan Alley classic Baby Face.

One Hand Clapping serves as a celebration of the enduring legacy of Paul McCartney and Wings. It captured a moment when Wings had found and defined their signature sound – just as Paul had shaped popular culture the decade before with The Beatles, he was doing it once again in the 70s with Wings.  This recording gives an insight into the inner workings of the band as they work and play together in the studio.  It also underscores Paul’s incredible talent as a live performer:  Fifty years on, Paul is still performing many of these songs in packed stadiums across the world.


Disc 1
A1. One Hand Clapping 02:15
A2. Jet 03:59
A3. Soily 03:55
A4. C Moon/Little Woman Love 03:19
A5. Maybe I’m Amazed 04:52
A6. My Love 04:15

B1. Bluebird 03:27
B2. Let’s Love 01:09
B3. All of You 02:04
B4. I’ll Give You a Ring 02:03
B5. Band on the Run 05:20
B6. Live and Let Die 03:26
B7. Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five 05:50
B8. Baby Face 01:56

Disc 2
C1. Let Me Roll It 04:28
C2. Blue Moon of Kentucky 03:05
C3. Power Cut 01:33
C4. Love My Baby 01:13
C5. Let It Be 01:02
C6. The Long and Winding Road/Lady Madonna 02:10

D1. Junior’s Farm 04:17
D2. Sally G 03:28
D3. Tomorrow 02:12
D4. Go Now 03:35
D5. Wild Life 04:30
D6. Hi, Hi, Hi 03:57